The Early Childhood Consortium is comprised of directors and staff from 31 early childhood centers, Wayne State University faculty from the College of Education and the Merrill Palmer Skillman Institute, and representatives from community partners. Anna Miller is the Chair of the Consortium. Dr. Hilary Ratner and Beverly Weathington are the Co-Chairs of the Consortium. 


The Goals of the Early Childhood Consortium are to expand and improve:

  • Professional development of early childhood center directors, teachers, and support staff

  • Implementation of best practices in early childhood education in the Downtown, Midtown and North End neighborhoods in Detroit.

  • Parent engagement and education programs.

  • Collaborative relationships among Consortium members an community partners

The Activities of the Early Childhood Consortium include:

  • Monthly Meetings

  • Annual Conference

  • Annual Directors’ In-service

  • Annual Colloquium for Consortium Members and Community

What is the Early Childhood Consortium?